Zakynthos Town is the capital (pop 9 764) and the
main port of the island.
The churches, palaces and squares with their fountains and surrounding
arcades, which were built during the Venetian occupation, have made the
town one of the most picturesque in the Adriatic after Dubrovnik.
Although much of the town was destroyed in an earthquake in 1953, it has
been rebuilt in the Venetian style.
The old Venetian citadel, set on a hill, 100m - 361ft up, survived the
earthquake and provides an extended view of the town, the bay and the
coast of the mainland from Messolongi
(NE) to Pylos (Navarino) (SE) and including Chlemoutsi Castle.
Platia Solomou. Many items recall old Zakynthos: model of the theatre,
paintings and engravings, furniture.
There is a rich collection of icons from the 16C to the 19C by Damaskinos.
Tzanos etc., and religious paintings by the 17C and 18C lonian School:
massive iconostasis from the church of the Pantocrator, frescoes and
murals from the churches of St George in Zakynthos, St Andrew in Volimes
Church of Our Lady of the Angels
(Kiria ton Angelon)
Behind the Hotel Xenia.
Elegant Venetian Renaissance facade and 17C iconostasis.
Platia Agiou Markou. Tombs of Solomos and Kalvos on the ground floor;
icons and souvenirs of famous citizens (portrait of Foscolo) on the first